

March 14, 2024

Dr. Richard Lapidus
President
Fitchburg State University

Dear President Lapidus:

This letter serves as formal notification of action taken by the Accreditation Commission of the Association for Advancing Quality in Educator Preparation at its meeting on February 23, 2024, regarding the initial educator licensure programs at Fitchburg State University.

Action: Based on examination of the case record, including the program's Quality Assurance Report and the AAQEP Quality Review Team Report, the Accreditation Commission awards accreditation for a full term of 7 years to the initial educator licensure programs at Fitchburg State University (see Action Report).

The Commission issued two official notations to this action. One is an observation, which is a notation that offers a perspective or a suggestion that is nonevaluative, and the other is a comment, which serves to call attention to a program strength that is noteworthy but not so significant or pervasive as to warrant citation as a commendation:

- 1. **Observation**: Relative to Aspect 2d, the Commission affirms the school counseling program's ongoing continuous improvement efforts and the development of assessments to measure progress.
- 2. **Comment**: Relative to Aspect 4b, the Commission notes the provider's ability to work proactively with partners to address local needs, including its work with Future Educators Academy and Falcon Academy, with a focus on early exposure by prospective candidates to support increasing accessibility and diversity in the teacher pipeline.

This action is effective immediately and extends **through December 31**, **2030**, or until Fitchburg State University ceases to be a member in good standing of AAQEP, whichever is earlier. Annual Reports are due by December 31 of each year, beginning in 2025. In addition, please refer to our <u>substantive change policy</u> for guidance on changes that must be reported in the interim.

Congratulations!

Mark LaCelle-Peterson, Ed.D.

Mark La Celle Haters

President and CEO

cc: Patricia Marshall, Provost

Matthew Bruun, Director of Communications and Public Relations

Nancy L. Murray, Dean, School of Education

Claire Abbott , Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Lindsay Zorich, Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education